What states have homestead laws in place?

+1 vote
asked Dec 25, 2018 in Government by nickwatson14 (250 points)
What states have homestead laws in place?

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Dec 31, 2018 by itbenreahu1989 (330 points)
Under common law the Homestead laws don't really exist however the states that have enacted homestead laws to protect the homestead from property taxes, creditors etc are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota and Texas.

17,511 questions

18,792 answers


576,266 users