What happens when a 17 year old gets a speeding ticket in California?

0 votes
asked Apr 25 in Law Enforcement/Police by duonglino (1,420 points)
What happens when a 17 year old gets a speeding ticket in California?

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Apr 26 by 15thgear (26,230 points)
When a 17 year old gets a speeding ticket in California they will have points added onto their license and 2 points on the 17 year old's drivers license in a 12 month period can result in the drivers license being restricted.

When the 17 year old's drivers license is restricted it means they will only be able to drive with a licensed driver that is over 25 years of age in the vehicle.

The cost of a speeding ticket in California for a minor or anyone else of any age is $238.00 for 1 to 15 mph over the speed limit, $367.00 for 16 to 25 mph over the speed limit and $490.00 for 26 to 99 mph over the speed limit.

When you get a speeding ticket in California you first will pay a base fine, depending on how many MPH you were going over.

Speeding between 1 and 15 mph over the limit results in a $35.00 base fine.

Speeding between 16 and 25 mph over the limit results in a $70.00 base fine.

Speeding between 26 and 99 mph over the limit results in a $100.00 base fine.

In California after you get a speeding ticket, your auto insurance premium may increase between 29 percent to 70 percent on average depending on your age, prior driving record and insurance carrier.

Your auto insurance premium adjustment after a ticket could be higher or lower, depending on your personal rating factors.

In California you do not need to appear in court unless you want to contest your citation or your appearance is required.

However, you must resolve your case ON OR BEFORE the court date / due date listed at the bottom of your citation.

103,099 questions

102,180 answers

1,331 comments

7,031,799 users

...