How long do points stay on your license in Michigan?

0 votes
asked Apr 25 in Law Enforcement/Police by duonglino (1,420 points)
How long do points stay on your license in Michigan?

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Apr 26 by 15thgear (26,230 points)
Points stay on your license in Michigan for a period of 2 years from the date of the conviction.

Each traffic violation in Michigan has a point value which is set by the law in the Vehicle Code of Michigan.

The points on your license are placed on your Michigan driving record only after you have been convicted of a moving violation and they remain on your driving record for 2 years.

The amount of points it takes to lose your drivers license in the state of Michigan is 12 points.

The typical result of 12 drivers license points in Michigan is having your driver's license either restricted, suspended or revoked for months to years.

To take a BDIC to remove points from your license and driving record and keep a ticket from being reported to your auto insurance company, you will need to receive permission from the Michigan Secretary of State.

It's also worth noting that in Michigan, Michigan drivers can only take a BDIC course once in their lifetime to remove points from their driving record.

In Michigan when you have accumulated 4 points within a period of 2 years, the Secretary of State will send you a letter in the mail to advise you of the fact that you have a higher-than-average number of points on your driving record.

Driving over Michigan speed limits is not a felony.

However, depending on the circumstances, if a driver's excessive speed constitutes “reckless driving,” then he or she could be guilty of a felony if his or her speeding causes the death or “serious impairment of body function” of another person.

103,109 questions

102,465 answers

1,331 comments

7,032,875 users

...