What are the 4 types of hypersensitivity?

0 votes
asked Apr 18 in Other- Health by Jjbe1999 (1,480 points)
What are the 4 types of hypersensitivity?

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Apr 19 by 121inches (5,580 points)
edited Apr 20 by 121inches
The 4 types of hypersensitivity are.

Type 1: Reaction mediated by IgE antibodies.
Type 2: Cytotoxic reaction mediated by IgG or IgM antibodies.
Type 3: Reaction mediated by immune complexes.
Type 4: Delayed reaction mediated by cellular response.

Type IV Hypersensitivity (Delayed-Type Hypersensitivity) Type IV hypersensitivity which is also known as cell-mediated hypersensitivity because it is the result of the interaction of T lymphocytes and the specific antigen to which they have been sensitized.

Type I hypersensitivities include atopic diseases, which are an exaggerated IgE mediated immune responses (i.e., allergic: asthma, rhinitis, conjunctivitis, and dermatitis), and allergic diseases, which are immune responses to foreign allergens (i.e., anaphylaxis, urticaria, angioedema, food, and drug allergies).

Type III hypersensitivity reactions can be associated with medications, autoimmune, or infectious conditions.

Further, it can involve multiple organ systems that may require expertise from various specialties.

102,796 questions

98,920 answers


7,014,579 users