What happens if your child misses too much school in Arkansas?

0 votes
asked Apr 10 in Primary & Secondary Education by 7caker88se (2,040 points)
What happens if your child misses too much school in Arkansas?

1 Answer

0 votes
answered Apr 10 by Jacupq4 (13,980 points)
If your child misses too much school in Arkansas the district will notify the prosecuting authority and the parent or legal guardian or anyone having lawful control of the student.

The parents or anyone having lawful control or custody of the student shall also be subject to a civil penalty as prescribed by law.

The student will also have to be held back and retake the grade over again which makes them attend school longer than normal and the parents can face jail time as well.

If you miss school the school will also notify the parents or legal guardian.

By law students in Arkansas must attend school each year for at least 178 days in Arkansas.

The attendance law in Arkansas states that every guardian, every parent or other person that has custody of any child ages 5 through 17 years of age on or before August 1st of that year who resides as defined by policy within the district shall enroll and send the child to a district school but with some exceptions.

The state of Arkansas requires children between the ages of five and 17 to attend school, with the following exceptions: Child received high school diploma early (before reaching age 17) Parent has elected to withhold child from kindergarten.

School is mandatory and required by law in Arkansas and failure to attend school or be home schooled in Arkansas can result in criminal action against the parents and even the child.

In Arkansas the child must attend either regular school or be home schooled until they are at least 17.

Excessive absences are defined as 2 or more occurrences of unexcused absences in a 30 day period which will result in disciplinary action.

For example when a student has had ten (10) unexcused absences in a school year, the student is identified as a Habitual Truant and the student's attendance records will be flagged (HT).

Chronic absenteeism means missing too much school—for any reason—excused or unexcused.

Experts and a growing number of states define chronic absenteeism as missing 10% (or around 18 days) during a school year.

Students who miss more than 18 days of school are less proficient in reading, writing and math compared to their peers with good attendance.

The average school year for most schools across the country is 180 days long, which means that a chronically absent student typically misses at least 18 days of school or at least two days per month.

The most common reason for chronic absenteeism is illnesses or injuries which render the child unable to attend school normally.

While unavoidable, the child and their parents should try their best to minimize the chances of illnesses and accidents as much as they can.

Attending school is mandatory until you reach 18 years of age and not attending school can get you as a student and your parents in trouble.

Parents that actively help kids skip school or don't make their kids go to school can face jail time as well.

103,079 questions

101,946 answers

1,329 comments

7,030,522 users

...