What speed is considered reckless driving in Washington state?

0 votes
asked Aug 1, 2022 in Insurance/Registration by boredwater (8,700 points)
What speed is considered reckless driving in Washington state?

5 Answers

0 votes
answered Aug 9, 2022 by Kgarfield (6,410 points)
Any speed around 10 miles or more over the speed limit is considered Reckless driving in Washington State.

However it's not just the speed that can get you in trouble for Reckless driving in Washington state or other states.

Driving reckless in other ways other than speed can also get you a ticket and in trouble for reckless driving.

Reckless driving is defined by law as driving your vehicle in a dangerous manner without regard to others safety.

Reckless Driving is defined in Washington as driving a motor vehicle with a willful and wanton disregard for safety of persons or property. “Willful and wanton” is the key phrase.

In Washington State, reckless driving is a gross misdemeanor criminal traffic offense.

Reckless driving charges can pose substantial consequences, and it is important to understand the law.

Under Washington State law (RCW 46.61.

In United States law, reckless driving is a major moving traffic violation that generally consists in driving a vehicle with willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.

A person is guilty of reckless driving if he drives a motor vehicle: (1) In wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property; or. 2 In a manner that indicates a wanton or willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.

Reckless driving is typically classified as a misdemeanor, meaning you'll face up to a year in jail as a consequence of the charge.

Some states will even charge the crime as a felony, which could land you in state prison, but this typically only happens when someone is injured or killed as a result of your driving.

Swerving can also get you in trouble when done as part of reckless driving.

If you swerve with abandon while disregarding road rules or cause damage to the road or other vehicles, expect to get cited and ticketed.

To be guilty of careless driving the prosecution must prove that: you were driving a vehicle; on a road or a public place; and that. the standard of your driving was below that of a reasonable competent driver.
0 votes
answered Oct 7, 2022 by Ulrich Kippenberger (2,300 points)

I hope I won't be involved into reckless driving. Because I have never had an insurance. And that was because I have never driven cars older than a year. When the warranty gets to an end, I come to DriveAxis and take a new car. Sometimes I have to get more some money for that, but that is what is always happening, and in the long run it is still more economical than replace many old spare parts.

0 votes
answered Nov 2, 2022 by eliss (3,570 points)
The answer is that any speed beyond Washington's maximum speed limits could serve as prima facie evidence of reckless driving, which in Washington is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in jail and a $5,000 fine.
0 votes
answered Nov 2, 2022 by eliss (3,570 points)

Therefore, it is important to remember that the speed limit on any stretch of road extends from the sign itself to the next speed limit sign. If you are in zone 25 and there is a 35 sign in front of you, the speed limit will be 25 until you pass the sign. Either way you will find the article Maximum Speed Limits in the US by State https://www.uproad.com/blog/speed-limits-in-the-usa  helpful. There is a lot of useful information there

0 votes
answered May 1, 2023 by Zoina (3,580 points)

The first thing you will want to do is look at some of the credentials of the instructors. You can ask them how long they have been teaching and read up on any articles that they've had published. You should also check out their driving school New York freecarnyc reviews online. Find out what others have to say about them and decide whether it's the best place for you to attend.

100,508 questions

96,321 answers

1,285 comments

6,998,810 users

...